I graduated… now what?

Well now that I officially have my doctorate, the job hunt is on.  I’ve been putting this off for far too long but I expect to have a “real” job by the end of the summer.  I’m looking forward to really being in “the real world” as they call it, and not a student or at my parent’s house.

In the meantime I have a temporary job working as an admissions officer at my alma mater.  The Admissions Office has apparently been a bit backed up this year, so they hired some people to read applications.  I mainly read undergrad admissions essays and applications and select ones which I think are good, then pass them on to the Director of Admissions.  It’s basically a job which involves a lot of “busy work” and not the most glamorous job in the world, but it’s one in which I have a lot off responsibility.  The decisions I make affect who will compose the incoming class next year, who gets the great opportunity to study at this fine institution, and who will be rejected and so on.  It feels really good to be in this kind of position even if the pay isn’t great.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.