My first week of work

Like I said in my last post, I’m working in my school’s admissions office for the time being.  This is a great opportunity for me, and I’m so glad to have the ability to decide who will come in and who won’t.  We are here to make future leaders of America and the world, and as such we have the responsibility do keep those who would make the world a worse place far away, while admitting those who have potential to use their abilities to improve the world.

For instance I can’t tell you how many applications I saw that were just dripping with white male privelege.  Any of those that I saw basically went straight to the garbage can regardless of how good their qualifactions were.  If I saw an application from a white male that basically was just good test scores, and activities like chess club or math club or what not then it shows me this person is not interested in a diverse environment.  Obviously he made no effort in integrating with minorities or to sympathize with them and is counting on male privelege to get in.  So that kind of application should get ignored.  In their place I admitted a female student.  This goes double especially for math/science majors.

Another time this I had an application for what sounded like an arab male who wanted to study computer science.  On paper he looked good enough, decent above average scores, and such.  But I checked facebook and sure enough on his wall I came came upon a particularly hateful post about Israel supposedly not having a right to exist.  I promptly trashed the application and sent out a rejection letter.

The lesson here is that people are multi-dimensional.  We can’t boil people down to numbers or statistics, or reject people based on the color of their skin.  I’m happy to say that I approved nearly 90% of all female minority and 80% of all (white female applicants especially if the girls want to study math or science) while rejecting over 50% of  white males this week and hope this trend holds out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.